Our Magnificent Neighbours in the Gardens of MIP
Exhibition

During the summer season, the Gardens of the International Perfumery Museum are organising an exhibition dedicated to the photographer Pierre Escoubas.

This artist presents the often exceptional diversity and beauty of the fauna and flora that surround us on a daily basis.

Pierre Escoubas photographs insects and animals on a white background, extracted from their natural environment. He presents his work on large formats, in the heart of the garden.

This refined work, which plays with scales, provokes surprise and often wonder in the spectator, through the discovery of unsuspected shapes and colours.

It is also an opportunity to become aware of the richness and fragility of nature.

EXHIBITION Our Magnificent Neighbours

For many years, biodiversity has been seriously threatened by the consequences of human activity. Raising awareness of the importance of the countless animal and plant species we encounter on a daily basis, fostering an appreciation of their essential roles, their intrinsic beauty, their often unsuspected shapes and colours, educating and raising awareness of the fragility of nature are therefore issues of the utmost importance.

As scientists, illustrators and educators, it is our responsibility to share our knowledge and vision to work for the preservation of the often invisible world around us.

The image is therefore a tool of unrivalled power: more than a dry speech or a clinical description, the visual discovery of the shapes, colours and textures of the living world by a novice or less experienced audience will in turn provoke wonder, curiosity and a desire to learn, and thus create the motivation to preserve and protect this world suddenly revealed to the eye.

In this perspective, the exhibition "Our Magnificent Neighbours" wants to play this role by presenting images of the micro fauna and flora of the Alpes-Maritimes, made on white backgrounds. This series is in line with the philosophy of the "Meet Your Neighbours" project. Initiated in 2009 by two Anglo-Saxon photographers, and dedicated to illustrating the local fauna, the project brings together an international collective of photographers that the author joined in 2014.

The shots are taken in field studios, as close as possible to the environment of the plants and animals being photographed, in order to respect the subjects while producing pure images, showing the organism in all the beauty of its shapes and colours.

By eliminating the decorative elements, the desired effect is to astonish and amaze the spectator with the intrinsic beauty of living things. The use of macrophotography in particular allows the spectator to discover animals or plants whose presence is most often unsuspected because of their small size.

These images, often compared to tables, thus have a particular graphic quality while retaining a high didactic power. By making the diversity and stunning beauty of the world that surrounds us on a daily basis known to the widest possible audience, they aim to convey a strong message in favour of conservation.

The images presented are focused on the microfauna of invertebrates in the Alpes-Maritimes, and were all made in our department, many of them in the author's garden.

Nos Magnifiques Voisins aux Jardins du MIP
Exposition

Les Jardins du Musée International de la Parfumerie organisent durant la saison estivale une exposition consacrée au photographe Pierre Escoubas.

Cet artiste présente la diversité et la beauté souvent exceptionnelles de la faune et de la flore qui nous entourent au quotidien.

Pierre Escoubas photographie insectes et animaux sur fond blanc, extraits de leur environnement naturel. Il présente son travail sur de grands formats, au cœur du jardin.

Ce travail épuré, qui se joue des échelles, provoque chez le spectateur la surprise et souvent l’émerveillement, par la découverte de formes et de couleurs insoupçonnées.

C’est aussi l’occasion de prendre conscience de la richesse et de la fragilité de la nature.

EXPOSITION Nos Magnifiques Voisins

Depuis de longues années, la biodiversité est gravement menacée par les conséquences de l’activité humaine. Éveiller les consciences à l’importance des innombrables espèces animales et végétales que nous côtoyons au quotidien, faire apprécier leur rôles essentiels, leur beauté intrinsèque, leurs formes et leurs couleurs souvent insoupçonnées, éduquer et sensibiliser à la fragilité de la nature sont donc des enjeux de la plus haute importance.

Ainsi, il nous revient en tant que scientifiques, illustrateurs ou éducateurs la responsabilité de partager nos connaissances et notre vision afin d’œuvrer pour la préservation du monde souvent invisible qui nous entoure.

L’image est pour cela un outil d’une puissance sans égale : plus qu’un discours aride ou une description clinique, la découverte visuelle des formes, des couleurs, des textures du vivant par un public novice ou peu averti va provoquer en retour émerveillement, curiosité, envie d’apprendre et ainsi faire naître la motivation à préserver et protéger ce monde soudain révélé au regard.

Dans cette perspective l’exposition « Nos Magnifiques Voisins » veut jouer ce rôle en présentant des images de la microfaune et de la flore des Alpes-Maritimes, réalisées sur des fonds blancs. Cette série s’inscrit dans la philosophie du projet « Meet Your Neighbours ». Initié en 2009 par deux photographes Anglo-saxons, et dédié à l’illustration de la faune locale, le projet regroupe un collectif international de photographes que l’auteur a rejoint en 2014.

Les prises de vue sont réalisées dans des studios de terrain, au plus près de l’environnement des plantes et des animaux photographiés, afin de respecter les sujets tout en réalisant des images épurées, montrant l’organisme dans toute la beauté de ses formes et de ses couleurs.

Par l’élimination des éléments de décor, l’effet recherché est de provoquer l’étonnement et l’émerveillement du spectateur devant la beauté intrinsèque du vivant. L’utilisation de la macrophotographie permet en particulier de faire découvrir au spectateur des animaux ou plantes dont la présence est le plus souvent insoupçonnée en raison de leur faible taille.

Ces images, souvent comparées à des tableaux, possèdent ainsi une qualité graphique particulière tout en retenant un haut pouvoir didactique. En faisant connaître au public le plus large la diversité et la stupéfiante beauté du monde qui nous entoure au quotidien, elles ont pour finalité de convoyer un message fort en faveur de la conservation.

Les images présentées sont focalisées sur la microfaune des invertébrés des Alpes-Maritimes, ont toutes été réalisées dans notre département, et pour nombre d’entre elles dans le jardin de l’auteur.